1896 Douglas Southern Electric Tramcar

AQ 06 Douglas Tramcar.jpg
AQ 06 Douglas Tramcar.jpg

1896 Douglas Southern Electric Tramcar

15.00

At the end of the 18th century Victorian enterprise built a road along the 3 ½ mile stretch of rocky coastline from Douglas to Port Soderick. A few years later the Douglas Southern Electric Tramway Company constructed an electric tramway along the route. In 1896 there were six cars with six matching trailers to carry their exhilarated passengers. These cars, with open sides and toast-rack seating, were unique yet typical of the transitional period in British tramcar design. A British body with American truck and electrical equipment. The body was a product of the Falcon Engine and Car Works of Loughborough and the 'Lord Baltimore' truck was equipped with two 25 hp '12A' type motors from Westinghouse of Pittsburgh. Maximum speed was twelve m.p.h. A Westinghouse controller was fixed at each end of the car. A short wheelbase enabled cars to negotiate sharp curves. Sand boxes were fixed in front of the wheels to help grip the track in wet weather. Operated in summer until 1939 wartime neglect led to its dismantling by 1947. The route of this unique lost railway provides a spectacular view of the Irish Sea, and forms part of the Isle of Man's coastal footpath Raad ny Foillan (Way of the Gull), created in 1986. Meanwhile, 16 cars were marooned in their shed on Little Ness. Enthusiasts showed interest and one car was donated for potential museum use. The Museum of British Transport in Clapham acquired the car and it was fully refurbished there. It can now be seen at the National Tramway Museum at Crich, Derbyshire, England.

Quantity:
Add To Cart